top of page
Orchestra Conductor on Stage

Our Work

The Luminosa String Orchestra was founded in 2018. 

Screenshot 2022-02-03 at 09.59.02.png


Launch Event

We launched in November 2018 at the Emily Anderson Concert Hall, NUI Galway.

Philip Glass (born 1937) Company 

T. C. Kelly (1917–1985) Three Pieces for Strings 

Béla Bartók (1881–1945) Romanian Folk Dances 

Edvard Grieg (1843–1907) Holberg Suite 



Our 2019 Season entitled Soundings explored two concert programmes themed Landscapes and Maestra.



Arthur Duff (1899–1956)     Meath Pastoral

John Maxwell Geddes (1941–2017) Soundposts

Edward Elgar (1857–1934)  Serenade for Strings

Edvard Grieg (1843–1907)   Two Elegiac Melodies

Samuel Barber (1910–1981)  Adagio for Strings

Bill Whelan (born 1950)  Inishlacken


Hildegard von Bingen (1098–1179) O Virtus Sapientiae

Joan Trimble (1915–2000) Suite for Strings

Jane O’Leary Snapshots

Fanny Mendelssohn (1805–47) String Quartet in Eb major.

Marian Ingoldsby Winter Su

Elizabeth Maconchy (1907 – 1994) Music for Strings

Luminosa poster PNG.png
Screenshot 2019-05-08 at 11.46.10.png


Voces Luminis

As our 2020 season was completely cancelled due to the Covid-19 pandemic, we reprogrammed a very special live streamed performance from Galway Cathedral. With special guests Aisling Kenny, Soprano and Mark Chambers, Countertenor.

Giovanni Battista Pergolesi (1710 – 1736) Stabat Mater

Antonio Vivaldi (1678 - 1741) Nulla in Mundo

Arcangelo Corelli (1653 – 1713) Concerto Gross Op. 6 No. 4



We produced and performed our delayed Arcadia programme in 2021 with two live-streamed concerts and finally one wonderful concert with a live audience 

Dawn Light:

Divertimento in B flat Major, K. 137

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756–91)

Idyll for String Orchestra, JW VI/3

Leoš Jan ček (1854–1928)

Two Traditional Irish Airs

John F. Larchet (1884–1967)

Simple Symphony

Benjamin Britten (1913–76)





Arcangelo Corelli (1653–1713) Concerto Grosso in C Minor, Op. 6, No. 3

Sam Perkin Visualization (2021) WORLD PREMIERE

John Maxwell Geddes (1941–2017) A Rose for Margaret

Peter Warlock (1894–1930)Capriol Suite

Shadows of Dusk

Frederick Delius (1862–1934) Late Swallows 

Linda Buckley (1979 - ) Fall Approaches

Anton Arensky (1861–1906) Variations on a Theme of Tchaikovsky, Op. 35a

Antonin Dvořak (1841–1904) Serenade for Strings, Op. 22

Screenshot 2022-02-03 at 10.31.50.png
bottom of page